Curriculum – Religious Studies

Religious Studies

We believe that when young people learn more about the world around them they will be able to understand why people make decisions to do things and be able to argue their opinion based on knowledge not ignorance. The world can seem a crazy and strange place, frightening and beautiful, simple and complicated. In Religious Studies lessons you will start to make sense of the world so that you can develop into confident, open-minded and knowledgeable young adults.

Key Stage 3 - Years 7 to 9

Topics of study during this time are many and varied, ranging in scope and levels – Such topics include:

Year 7: Exodus, Heroes, The Gospels, Multi-faith Community.
Year 8: What does it mean to be a Christian, what does it mean to be a Muslim, Genesis, Evil and Suffering
Year 9: War and Conflict, Pilgrimage, Jesus' death, Philosophy

Key Stage 4 - Years 10 & 11

Students started their GCSE Religious Studies in the Summer term of Year 9. Every student will follow the AQA GCSE Religious Studies course, ending in two RS examinations at the end of Year 11 lasting 1 hour and 45 minutes each.

The two components are made up of 4 topics each:

Component 1 – The Study of Religions
This consists of the following topics:

  • Christianity Beliefs and Teachings
  • Christianity Practises
  • Islam Beliefs and Teachings
  • Islam Practises

Component 2 – Thematic Studies
This consists of the following topics:

  • Theme A Relationships and Family
  • Theme B Religion and Life
  • Theme D Peace and Conflict
  • Theme E Crime and Punishment