Curriculum – English


Key Stage 3 - Year 7 - 9

Students are assessed using the GCSE 9-1 grading system in line with our five year curriculum. Students learn and review skills in three main areas: Reading, Writing, and Spoken Language.

A range of modern texts (poetry, drama and prose) are studied, as well as a text from the Literary Heritage which may include: WW1 poetry, Shakespeare’s sonnets and modern American literature (Of Mice and Men, The Crucible or To Kill a Mockingbird), and a Shakespeare play in Year 8 and 9. There is an increasing emphasis on reading and producing non-fiction texts such as: leaflets, review, blogs and articles. Students also learn to write persuasively and argumentatively, as well as honing their creative writing skills.

All Year 9 students begin studying English Literature in the summer term with an introduction to Power and Conflict Poetry.

Key Stage 4 - Years 10 & 11

At KS4, all students will study both GCSE English Literature and English Language. Both Literature and Language are awarded separate GCSEs and students must pass at least one to progress into Further Education without resitting English Language. We follow the AQA exam board for all English qualifications, including the Spoken Language element that is completed in Year 10.

English Language GCSE

The English Language GCSE is divided into three components:

  • Paper 1 – exam: Explorations in Creative Reading and Writing – 50%
  • Paper 2 – exam: Writers’ Viewpoints and Perspectives - 50%
  • Spoken Language - No longer contributes to the final GCSE grade, but must be done as part of English Language GCSE.

English Literature GCSE 

The English Literature GCSE is divided into five broadly equally weighted components over two final exams:

  • Paper 1 - Shakespeare and the 19th Century Novel
  • Paper 2 - Modern Texts and Poetry (Power and Conflict AND Unseen Poetry)

For further information about the courses can be found by following this link: